Best Kid’s Icecream EVER! Why did I not do this earlier?

  Ok here’s the thing – we’re an ice-cream loving family and I blame this almost entirely on the climate where we’re currently living. 

Queensland, Australia.

Home of heat, humidity, flies, sunshine, surf, and… Ice cream!

But as we’ve chosen to avoid excess (processed cane) sugar, thickeners, artificial Colouring and pretty much all of the ingredients one finds in modern ice cream, finding our favorite treat is sometimes hard. 

Until one day, someone mentioned using frozen bananas! I don’t know who it was or when but I wish I had’ve done this sooner!

Absolute gold (that’s Queenslander for amazing, the best ever, etc).

Gluten free, dairy free, nasty free ice cream woo hoo! It takes about 3 – 5 minutes to make, is cheap, and healthy, and takes sooooooo good! Creamy, sorbet-like texture, full taste, and did I mention that it’s great for us grown-ups too?!

Here is my recipe but dabble with your own creations;

Ingredients;

  • 2 X medium to large frozen bananas  (peeled before freezing), cut into chunks.
  • 3/4 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp vanilla extract/bean
  • 2 tsp honey of choice

Method;

  1. Place all ingredients into a food processor and whizz until nicely combined into a smooth, sorbet consistency. 
  2. Makes about 6-8 serves.

“Yummy yummy in my tummy” my kidlets say.

You’re welcome xx

  

One thought on “Best Kid’s Icecream EVER! Why did I not do this earlier?

Leave a Reply

