Sew Busy in our house! Teaching life lessons with needles and chin ups.

Where to begin?! When life gets so overwhelming I had to let something go and unfortunately that was talking to you guys through this blog 😦 I’m sorry!

The loveliest thing though about my last 6 weeks was having my sister & nephew visit from out of town and training together, hanging out, and showing them a few of our homeschooling activities. The days have been packed so the whole family is looking forward to a few days off over the holiday season!

A few great focus areas for my two children have been sewing (the very latest obsession), rock climbing, developing chin up strength, and non violent communication. For me, alongside busy days with my children and managing some events for our community homeschool group I’ve been working my behind off trying to finish up some illustration jobs I’ve been commissioned to do, as well as compete in the grand final of my basketball league (we won!) and attend the Disney reunion down in Sydney (where I previously worked as an artist)! You’ll probably see the evidence in my Instagram feed – Phew it has been busy!


So I’m super happy about how my kidlets have been developing over the last two months as THE biggest lessons I’ve been trying to imprint on their ever-sponging brains are;

  • Have a plan/be prepared
  • Practice and persistence to achieve your goals
  • Words are like magic if you use them properly.

And these lessons, through every day activities, are sinking in! Yay!! 

Sewing has taught my two the pretty big lesson of having a plan, and being prepared. Oh how the tears did flow! Seam allowance, needle threading, hand sewing, placement of cut outs…. All the mistakes are being made and it’s wonderful as once the frustration has cleared we can talk it through and do better next time. 

Chin ups are a big focus right now – for some reason they’ve been something my two have latched onto through watching myself and my husband train at the gym. Practice and persistence come up very regularly in most activities or pursuits but chin ups have been demanding and the joy of reaching goals has been sweet! My eldest can now do more than me!!! Talk about confidence booster! And because this is something it’s not possible for me to help them with it’s been extra special as they’ve achieved all by themselves 🙂 and the goal posts can always be moved to achieve more if they wish ❤️❤️❤️

And finally, this is a long running, always continuing lesson which I’m still learning for myself! The power of words! Now that my littlest is 3&½ she’s coming to a stage where she has her own opinion, she wants to lead and direct what she is doing, and her independence is growing. So, therefore the disagreements come thick and fast some days and we need to learn to master our communication. This is a work in progress that’s for sure! 

I’ve been so happy to see the progress with my two I just had to share!!! 

Did you find any activities in particular helped your own children with perseverance, preparation, or communication?

Would love to hear if you did 🙂

C xx

Leave a Reply

